The Melbourne Spoken Word Prize is an annual prize awarded for exceptional and innovative performance in the field of spoken word by an artist practising in Melbourne or Victoria, judged by influential and respected leaders in the spoken word scene.

Held each year at the beginning of December, the final performance night includes finalists nominated by regular event conveners and wildcard entrants. Performers are nominated on the basis of exceptional and active participation in the spoken word scene during the calendar year.

Performers seeking to be nominated are encouraged to participate regularly in many of Melbourne’s open mic and slam events. In November, The MSW Committee invites conveners of regular events to nominate people for the shortlist.

The winning performer is awarded a cash prize, trophy and professional prizes including performance opportunities, and publication in video and Audacious.

The 2017 Melbourne Spoken Word Prize will be held on Friday, December 1 at The Wheeler Centre.

Coming soon: more in depth rules and guidelines for the 2017 Prize

Previous winners


Overall winner: Kylie Supski
People’s Choice Award: Alex Fusca
Honourable mentions: Amy Bodossian, Anna Fern, Roshelle Fong


Winner: Steve Smart
Honourable mentions: Brendan Bonsack, Carmen Main, Abdul Hammoud